School Governors


Together with the Headteacher, the Governing Body has overall responsibility for the running of the school. Governors are involved in deciding school policies, allocating the school’s budget and appointing staff. Governors act as a critical friend to the school staff and support the Headteacher through monitoring, participation in school activities and in offering their own expertise and guidance.

Governors are asked to sign a Code of Conduct on appointment and attend termly full Governing Body meetings. The Governing Body is divided into sub-committees which reflect the areas of whole-school improvement.

At Barcroft Primary our structure includes a Quality and Standards Committee and a Finance Committee.

The governors are: 

Name Role
Mrs. J. Johl Head Teacher 
Mr. P. Cross Chair - Co-opted Governor (10.9.17- 11.9.21)
Mrs J. Turner Parent Governor (10.12.19 - 9.12.23)
Mrs. R. Nash Staff Governor (18.6.18 - 17.6.22)
Mr I. Acheampong  Parent Governor (12.4.19 - 11.4.23)
Mrs J. Patel Parent Governor (25.4.17 - 24.4.21)
Mrs F. Mwogeza Parent Governor (12.4.19 - 11.4.23)
Mrs S. Sammi Parent Governor (12.4.19 - 11.4.23)
Mrs J. Roberts Co-opted Governor (11.9.18 - 10.9.22)
Mrs M. Poole Co-opted Governor (4.7.17 - 3.6.21)
  Local Authority Governor  


As required by the School Governance (Miscellaneous Amendments) (England) Regulations 2015 governing bodies have a duty to publish any relationships between governors and members of the school staff. There are none to declare as of April 2018 and as reviewed September 2019. 

As of April 2018, and reviewed termly, there are no named governors with anything to declare re relevant business or pecuniary interests.

Please find below the current Committee Structure:

Committee Structure

To be reviewed September 2019 due to new members.

Appraisal committee: Mr Cross, Mrs Patel

Dismissal Appeal Committee: Any 3 non-staff Governors without a declaration of interest

Quality and Standards committee: Mrs Patel, Mr Acheampong

Finance, Site, Buildings and Health and Safety Committee: Mr Cross, Mrs Johl, Mrs Sammi, Mrs Turner

Pay/ Personnel Committee: Any 3 non-staff Governors without a declaration of interest

Staff/ Pupil Discipline Committee: Any 3 non-staff Governors without a declaration of interest

Working party to cover essential questions for Governors: Mr Cross, Mrs Johl, Mrs Nash, Mrs Turner, Mrs Patel